5 Minutes with Young Masters Artist Sun Ae Kim

 

Twelve Red Plates Sun Ae Kim 15x15x3 cm £960

Twelve Red Plates
Sun Ae Kim
15x15x3 cm

Young Masters Artist Sun Ae Kim tells us about her love of English ceramics and William Morris:

Can you explain to us what your work is about?

The ‘Twelve Red Plates’ were created in response to a site-specific project with The National Trust property Red House, which was once William Morris’ House in Bexleyheath.

I have a huge interest in the The Red House and what has accumulated since William Morris. My inspiration comes from the uncovering of discovered hidden colours, paintings and drawings. I have interpreted the layered history into 12 ceramic plates which in a way document the history of Red House. The red-based plates represent the original embroidered hangings of Illustrious Women, depicting 12 maidens.

What is it about the Young Masters project that you are most interested in?

What I find most interesting about the Young Masters project is that it celebrates the spirit of the old masters’ craftsmanship by presenting contemporary artists’ works of art.

Which artist/s are you most inspired by?

I am mostly inspired by the craftsmanship of potters and modellers of England. The ceramic processes of the past help me develop my studio practice.

Can you tell us something about your background?

I spent most of my childhood in Korea where the value tradition and craftsmanship are still very much appreciated. I have been influenced by the beauty of ceramics from history. My cultural background has a significant impact on my studio practice. Since moving to London, my identity has been exposed to new paths and shown me new perspectives

What inspired you to become an artist?

The way I see the historical and traditional aspects of craft in contemporary lens inspired me to becoming an artist. 

If you weren’t an artist what would you be?

I don’t think about what I would be instead as I have wanted to be an artist for such a long time. However if had to pick maybe an Historian.

What is your greatest achievement as an artist to date?

Now I am fully confident of what I do in terms of artistic practice, I think this is my greatest achievement of all.

What are your plans for the future?

I will be developing my career and practice as a professional artist in contemporary ceramics field.

Comments are closed.

