Shortlisted Ceramicist Kevin Callaghan tells us more about his work…

Kevin Callaghan is a ceramicist who works with geometric form and structures.  He tells us more about his work, aims and inspirations…

What is it about Young Masters that you are most interested in?

I have a lot of respect for Young Masters; in the way it searches to find young and emerging talent, looking at the old yet creating the new. The group shows excite me a lot and it’s a great opportunity to create and show new concepts in the development of my practice. The publicity for me is always welcome; it’s projects like Young Masters that help people like myself in their early stages of engagement in an ever-demanding art world.

Which artist/s are you most inspired by?

I’m inspired by painters such as Antonio Tapies, Robert Motherwell, and Franz Kline and sculptors like: Liam Gillick, Dan Flavin, and James Turrell. I have always been inspired by Japanese Ceramics.

Can you tell us something about your background?

I have a strong ceramic design/ ceramic fine art background, I finished the MA in Ceramics and Glass at the RCA in 2013, and this completed 10 years of study. I am professionally trained as a thrower (potter) but I work exclusively now in sculptural work, ceramic, steel, wood and digital light panel photographic imagery. I have had a number of awards and residencies in Ireland, and a residency in China in 2009, following an award from the Irish Institute of Designers in Ireland.

What inspired you to become an artist?

I think at high school in art class I was the only one that took it seriously and I think partly it was the one thing that I was good at. I remember failing my honors in Art and used my girlfriend at the time in drawings and photographs to get in to art school.

If you weren’t an artist what would you be?

Honestly, I have no idea. I would more than likely would have travelled a lot more than I did.

What is your greatest achievement as an artist to date?

I think it would be coming to London, studying at the RCA and engaging in a vibrant art culture, and having great opportunities to further my career.

What are your plans for the future?

I will continue producing work without the limitation of any one medium and continue to get to the root of my own means of self-expression.

Comments are closed.

