Hannah Williamson tells us more about her work…

What is it about Young Masters that you are most interested in?

 
It’s really nice to be part of something which connects people to art – its history and what it is today. I’m excited to be part of a group of show where the standard of work is so high. I’m really, really, REALLY pleased to have the opportunity to show a body of works in a setting where art is really celebrated and given a proper space.

 
Can you explain to us what your work is about?

 
The work is about connecting; Past/present, abstract/figurative, and relationships on the whole. My work also questions the status art object. I’ve chosen to uniquely embellish a mass produced item………………. I find my work difficult to talk about so excuse the non-elaborate answer!

 
Which artist/s are you most inspired by?

 
Gosh this is such a hard one. I think my focus changes so my appreciation for different artists work shifts and is in a constant state of flux. I’ve never gone off any artists; but one notices new things the whole time re-looking at work. I learnt a lot through teaching art and art history. I love the old masters…………..Constable, Turner, Reynolds…………………………………..recently I’ve been looking at Dutch still life…………and always contemporary art too. There’s a lot of good art out there.

 
Can you tell us something about your background?

 
I was born and still live in London. I went to The Slade to do my degree. I taught art in schools from 2005 – 2013. Last year I felt that I needed to spend more time focusing on making my own art; so I’ve been doing exactly that since July 2013.

 
What inspired you to become an artist?

 
Being an artist fulfills me in every sense. Being an artist summarizes all of my values about everything and one really lives it. I’m not sure I ‘became’ an artist necessarily; I guess I just am one.

 
If you weren’t an artist what would you be?

 
An astronomer

 
What is your greatest achievement as an artist to date?

 
My stoicism shocks me sometimes, even in the face of adversity……so my greatest achievement would be continuing not only be inspired (against the odds) and my having a voracious drive make more artwork – which seems to be increasing in depth and meaning. Being selected for the Young Masters Art Prize is a massive achievement for me.

 

What are your plans for the future?

 

To continue to be inspired, to explore and create.

Comments are closed.

