Johann Ryno de Wet explains more about his work…

What is it about the Young Masters project that you are most interested in?

 
I think what interests me most is that I am an artist today because as a child I was exposed to the work of the masters in the history of art and the young masters project is a way for me to pay homage to those masters who influenced me.

 
Can you explain to us what your work is about?

 
In a nut shell, it is about my internal conflicts and revelations. it’s about my existential journey. My departure point is in dreams and in this particular series I looked at dreams I’ve had about the ocean that play on my fear of being completely vulnerable and also the illusion we have of control.

 
Which artist/s are you most inspired by?

 

Frediric Edwin Church, Eugene Delacroix, William Turner, Joan Miro, Yves Tanguy, Salvador Dali, Max Ernst, Ansel Adams, Edward Weston, Hiroshi Sugimoto, Micheal Wolf, Chris Jordan, Levi van Veluw, Roger Ballen, Dan Holdsworth, Olafur Eliasson, Cai Guo-Qiang.

 

Can you tell us something about your background?

 

I grew up in Johannesburg South Africa. I have a degree in photography form the Tswane University of Technology.

 
What inspired you to become an artist?

 
My mother is an art teacher which played a huge role, as she exposed me to art from a young age. I’ve also had a deep connection with nature from a young age also thanks to my parents, which played a huge part as well.

 
If you weren’t an artist what would you be?

 
If I could be anything I would be a professional surfer or a professional mountaineer.

 
What is your greatest achievement as an artist to date?

 

Having a solo show at the Centro de arte Alcobendas in Madrid in July this year.

 
What are your plans for the future?

 
To create though provoking work and simply to continue working as an artist.

Comments are closed.

