Sun Ae Kim on her work…

What is it about Young Masters that you are most interested in?

I am interested in how Young Masters celebrates the art history in contemporary art and the importance of the Old Masters’ influence on young artists.

Can you explain to us what your work is about?

My current studio practice investigates contemporary narratives of everyday life captured through ceramic figurines that are informed by English precedents. They are such as luxurious porcelain figurine from the eighteenth century and  Staffordshire earthenware figurines from the nineteenth century in England. Having evaluated the subject matters of figurines throughout English history, I found that they often were the image of everyday life; they portray people’s pastime and behaviours, and reflect social history. Through my research, I adapted my investigation to explore how contemporary everyday life can be interpreted visually through ceramics. My work considers the history of figurine

production and its retrospective application in contemporary practice.

Which artist/s are you most inspired by?

I am inspired by the eighteenth and nineteenth century – English ceramic modellers and unknown potters. They were hidden artisans in large factories. Seeking the stories behind those skillful works inspired me in my studio.

Can you tell us something about your background?

I completed my B.F.A in ceramics and glass in Hong-ik University in Korea, after then I moved to London to study at the Royal College of Art.  I am generally a culturally-driven person – this new cultural experience living in the UK has enriched my studio work.

What inspired you to become an artist?

I was born and grown up most of my life in Korea. When I was young I learnt about Korean celadon wares which tradition lost track of.  I wanted to be an artist so that I could try to restore the heritage of Korean ceramics. I was only seven-years old and naïve, but that motivation makes me keep going.

If you weren’t an artist what would you be?

I dreamed of becoming an artist since I was at seven. During my childhood, I was also interested in history and archeology. Maybe I would be an art historian.

What is your greatest achievement as an artist to date?

The greatest achievement as an artist so far is to become confident in self-critique.  I have become an artist researcher as well as a practitioner.

What are your plans for the future?

I would like to develop my practice and business as a professional artist. I have upcoming shows both in Korea and the UK.

Comments are closed.

